Category Archives: baa-news

Upcoming 2020 North Dakota Arts & Craft Shows

Bismarck Art & Galleries Association Fall Art Show Autumn Artistry
The Fall Art Exhibition – October 6-23, 2020
The BAGA Fall Art Exhibition is a regional exhibit open to all artists 18 years old and older. The purpose of this exhibit is to provide an annual opportunity for artists to show, share and sell their artwork.
Opening reception October 6, 5-8 p.m.
Deadline is September 22, 2020. For more information

Bismarck Downtowners Street Fair
The Downtowners Street Fair – September 18-19, 2020
Each Fall, the Downtowners produce an Arts, Craft, and Food show called Street Fair. This event was created by the Downtowners in 1973 as “Customer Appreciation Days” then grew into a full blown Street Fair.
Street Fair is now in its 47th year. Arts, Craft, and Food vendors line the streets of Downtown Bismarck during Sept 18-19, 2020. See you there!
2020 Hours: Friday Sept 18: 10am-8pm,
Saturday Sept 19: 9am-6pm
Deadline is August 31, 2020. For more info


50th Annual Art Show Dedicated to BAA Founders

In 1970, three local artists got together and decided to form an art association to showcase western North Dakota artists, thereby forming The Badlands Art Association.

Dennis Navrat, Jackie Church and Jan Plott held their first open Art Show in the basement of Community First National Bank (now Bank of the West) in November 1970. They were quickly joined in the following years by David and Mary Huether, Cherie Roshau, Beverly Haas, Kathy Foster, Jack Stewart, and Michael Dunn.

In November of 2020 BAA will Celebrate their 50th Annual Art Show!

The show will take place at the Grand Dakota Lodge in the Grand Roosevelt Hotel (formerly the Ramada Inn) in Dickinson, North Dakota.

The Badlands Art Show is an open show. An “open” show means that you do not have to pass a judge to get in the show.

The Badlands Art Association is a small group; this is our major event for the year. We do the show in order to offer artists of all abilities the opportunity to showcase their work and to give the public a chance to see the wide range of art being created in our area.

Entry forms will be mailed to our members in August. If you are not a member of BAA, then now is the time to join.


Help Us Help You! Updates from NDCA

Kim Konikow, Executive Director, North Dakota Council on the Arts (NDCA) today announced several updates and assistance available to the arts and cultural sector.

North Dakota updates:
In response to the recent state of emergency regarding the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), NDCA continues to follow announcements from Governor Burgum and the Department of Health. For more information on COVID-19 symptoms, resources and prevention, visit

You are not alone – Connect with us:
NDCA is collecting an abundance of resources to keep you informed. There is much to share. Check out the resources often – and learn about financial aid availability, read inspirational stories and get factual COVID-19 updates. Resources and information available here.