September 2020 Newsletter Highlights

The Badlands Arts September 2020 newsletter is available on the Members Resources page.
In this issue: Call for entry forms are in the mail; upcoming meeting; Meet the art show judges; Summer workshop, Art show dates.

Call for entries forms for the 50th Annual BAA Art Show November 13-15 have been mailed out to BAA members. If you did not receive an entry form download the form here

Entry forms can also be picked up at the Dickinson Pubic Library.

Student entries are organized through the schools, for entry information go to

Deadline for entries is October 26, 2020.


BAA’s 2021 Summer Workshop Mark your Calendars

Watercolor Wax Batik with Linda Renaud

Diving into Watercolor Wax Batik
June 17, 18 and 19, 2021

The process of watercolor wax batik will be explained, demonstrated and practiced in this hands-on intensive workshop. Learn how to select the best photos to work from, plan your painting, build the multiple layers of wax and watercolor and then do the final batiking and the “reveal.”

2021 BAA Summer Workshop Schedule:
June 17, Thursday 4 pm – 8 pm (break for supper)
June 18 – 19, Friday and Saturday 9am – 4pm (noon break each day)

Topics covered will include:

  • Recognizing value changes (light to dark)
  • Reviewing color – color harmonies, analogous & complementary colors
  • Planning your painting: first wax application and initial wash of watercolor
  • Continuing with the planning/diagramming process
  • Building up the layers
  • Batiking your painting

About the instructor: A former member of the Badlands Artists Association, Linda has painted in watercolor wax batik for the past seven years. In that time, she has won numerous awards for her paintings and taught the wax batik process to dozens of artists.

Linda is a signature member of the Red River Watercolor Society and has had her work accepted in multiple uried shows including the Rocky Mountain Watermedia National Exhibition, the Western Federation of Watercolor Societies Show, the Red River Watercolor Society National Exhibition, the Pikes Peak International Show and three Colorado Watercolor Society shows.


Upcoming 2020 North Dakota Arts & Craft Shows

Bismarck Art & Galleries Association Fall Art Show Autumn Artistry
The Fall Art Exhibition – October 6-23, 2020
The BAGA Fall Art Exhibition is a regional exhibit open to all artists 18 years old and older. The purpose of this exhibit is to provide an annual opportunity for artists to show, share and sell their artwork.
Opening reception October 6, 5-8 p.m.
Deadline is September 22, 2020. For more information

Bismarck Downtowners Street Fair
The Downtowners Street Fair – September 18-19, 2020
Each Fall, the Downtowners produce an Arts, Craft, and Food show called Street Fair. This event was created by the Downtowners in 1973 as “Customer Appreciation Days” then grew into a full blown Street Fair.
Street Fair is now in its 47th year. Arts, Craft, and Food vendors line the streets of Downtown Bismarck during Sept 18-19, 2020. See you there!
2020 Hours: Friday Sept 18: 10am-8pm,
Saturday Sept 19: 9am-6pm
Deadline is August 31, 2020. For more info